About this opportunity
The European Laboratory for Learning and Intelligent Systems (ELLIS) runs a joint PhD call each autumn. You register on one central portal and choose advisors from the current advisor list; each PhD has a primary and a secondary advisor in different European countries (academic track) or an industry partner (industry track), with an exchange of at least six months.
Acceptance is very selective (fewer than 5% of registered applicants). Interviews follow in winter and decisions are expected in late February or March 2027. Start dates and salaries depend on the host institution — there is no common start date.
Who can apply
Candidates with (or completing) an undergraduate or master's degree in machine learning, computer science or a related field who want to do a PhD at a European institution with an ELLIS advisor. See the call FAQ for details.
- Eligible nationalities
- All nationalities
- Study level
- PhD
What the funding covers
Funded PhD positions paid by the host institution (salary or stipend set locally).
- Tuition Not stated — check the official page
- Stipend or salary Covered
- Travel Not stated — check the official page
- Accommodation Not stated — check the official page
- Health insurance Not stated — check the official page
"Not separately covered" means the provider does not pay for it on top — you pay it yourself, usually from the stipend if there is one.
Documents & tests
- Two-page motivation letter
- CV
- BSc and MSc transcripts (with English translations)
- Two or three referees (letters due 25 November 2026)
- Tests
- Not stated — check the official page
- Application fee
- Not stated — ScholarsChapter itself never charges a fee
How to apply
- Register on apply.ellis.eu.
- Pick advisors from the current advisor list.
- Request reference letters through the portal before 31 October.
- Submit by 31 October 2026, 23:59 AoE.
Before you apply
Tick each item as you confirm it. Your ticks are saved in this browser.
Quick answers
Who can apply for ELLIS PhD Program 2027?
Open to all nationalities. Level: PhD. See "Who can apply" for the full rules.
Is ELLIS PhD Program 2027 fully funded?
Funding type: Salary. Covers: stipend or salary.
What is the deadline for ELLIS PhD Program 2027?
The deadline is 31 Oct 2026 (23:59 AoE). Status: Closes in 11 days. Always confirm the date and time zone on the official website.
Does ELLIS PhD Program 2027 require IELTS or another test?
Our record does not state a test requirement — check the official page and your chosen university.
How do I apply for ELLIS PhD Program 2027?
Register on apply.ellis.eu. Apply only on the official website (ellis.eu). The full steps are listed under "How to apply".
Is there an application fee?
No fee is stated in our record. ScholarsChapter never charges a fee, and no agent can sell you a place.
Generated from this listing's verified details. More questions? See the FAQs.
Verification
- Information
- Verified against the official source. This confirms the details we list — it does not mean applications are open; see the application status above.
- Official source
- ellis.eu
- Last checked
- 19 Oct 2026
- Listing updated
- 19 Oct 2026
ScholarsChapter is an independent listing service. We never charge application fees. Deadlines, amounts and eligibility can change — always apply through the official website. How we verify listings
Report incorrect information
Thank you — your feedback helps us improve this page.