About this opportunity
The American Association of University Women funds women from outside the US in their first master’s or first PhD in a STEM field at an accredited US institution. You need a cumulative GPA of at least 3.5/4.0 in your highest degree.
Payments come in two instalments. Previous AAUW fellows are not eligible.
Who can apply
Women who are not US citizens/permanent residents, admitted to or enrolled in a first STEM master's or PhD in the US, GPA ≥ 3.5.
- Eligible nationalities
- All nationalities
- Study level
- Master's, PhD
What the funding covers
$20,000–$25,000
$20,000 for master's, $25,000 for PhD study, paid to the fellow in two instalments.
- Tuition Partly covered / varies
- Stipend or salary Partly covered / varies
- Travel Not stated — check the official page
- Accommodation Not stated — check the official page
- Health insurance Not stated — check the official page
"Not separately covered" means the provider does not pay for it on top — you pay it yourself, usually from the stipend if there is one.
Documents & tests
The exact document list for this opportunity is not recorded yet. These are the documents usually asked for — confirm the final list on the official page.
- Valid passport
- Transcripts and degree or school-leaving certificates (with certified English translations if needed)
- CV
- Statement of purpose, motivation letter or study plan
- Recommendation letters (usually two)
- English test score (IELTS, TOEFL, etc.) or waiver evidence
- Research proposal and, for many programs, a pre-acceptance letter from a supervisor
- Tests
- Not stated — check the official page
- Application fee
- Not stated — ScholarsChapter itself never charges a fee
How to apply
- Apply online during the AAUW window (mid-August to mid-September).
- Awards announced in March.
Before you apply
Tick each item as you confirm it. Your ticks are saved in this browser.
Program dates
- Duration
- 1 year
Quick answers
Who can apply for AAUW International Fellowships?
Open to all nationalities. Level: Master's, PhD. See "Who can apply" for the full rules.
Is AAUW International Fellowships fully funded?
Funding type: Partially funded, Stipend. Amount: $20,000–$25,000. Not separately covered: tuition (partly), stipend or salary (partly).
What is the deadline for AAUW International Fellowships?
The next deadline has not been announced yet. This program runs every year — save it to get an alert when we add the new date. Always confirm the date and time zone on the official website.
Does AAUW International Fellowships require IELTS or another test?
Our record does not state a test requirement — check the official page and your chosen university.
How do I apply for AAUW International Fellowships?
Apply online during the AAUW window (mid-August to mid-September). Apply only on the official website (www.aauw.org). The full steps are listed under "How to apply".
Is there an application fee?
No fee is stated in our record. ScholarsChapter never charges a fee, and no agent can sell you a place.
Generated from this listing's verified details. More questions? See the FAQs.
Verification
- Information
- Verified against the official source. This confirms the details we list — it does not mean applications are open; see the application status above.
- Official source
- www.aauw.org
- Last checked
- 19 Oct 2026
- Listing updated
- 19 Oct 2026
ScholarsChapter is an independent listing service. We never charge application fees. Deadlines, amounts and eligibility can change — always apply through the official website. How we verify listings
Report incorrect information
Thank you — your feedback helps us improve this page.